Apple removes its iCloud Activation Lock checker off of iCloud.com

Owen Stevens
January 30, 2017

Apple first introduced its Activation Lock Status checker back in October 2014 that enabled users to enter the serial number or IMEI of the user's Apple devices to find out if they are secured.

Apple's security page clearly states that the iOS 10.2.1 update dealt with kernel improvements and bugs which caused the Auto Unlock feature to unlock Apple Watch devices when they are not on anybody's wrist.

However, the removal of the iCloud Activation Lock will probably lead to an increase in iPhones theft since third-party retailers can sell these devices much easier now. A refusal most likely means that the device is stolen.

Cupertino has not yet issued any statement confirming and explaining why the Lock Activation page has been closed. There is also no word if another tool or service will be provided as a replacement.

Activation Lock has been enabled by default for iOS devices since iOS 8; it prevents anyone from activating a device without providing valid Apple ID credentials of the owner - dramatically cutting the value of stolen iOS devices on the black market. Several weeks ago, the Finder for AirPods app has been removed from the App Store. Since Airpods are not equipped with Global Positioning System it can only show you the last location where the Airpods were connected to your device, which is great for finding them if you misplaced them, but useless if they were stolen.

All you needed was the phone's IMEI or its serial number and a browser from to access the iCloud website. User will be able to ask them records of individual records, match dates and general information regarding match. However, it remains to be seen what the future plans of Apple will be regarding the device.

If you are selling your iOS device, you can speed up the process or avoid spooking your buyer by deleting all your files.

Beginning January 24, Apple advises customers who wish to check for Activation Lock before buying a used device to ensure that the device is erased and no longer linked to the previous owner's account. You can then choose the Erase All Content and Settings after tapping Reset.

Other reports by MyHealthBowl

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER